Daily Prompt: New Sensation

by snippetsandwords

I have to make sure that I always make a statement.

When everybody’s going after the smooth straight locks, I sport an unruly, wild mane. When everybody’s into doll shoes, I walk around in my cowboy boots. Up until now, when I walk in to my work place, even after having worked there for a couple of years, people still give me a weirded out look. They don’t get me but I don’t give a shit. I feel comfortable and confident and I know damn well how I am rocking the look.

I was born in 1980 and grew up in the 90s listening to grunge. While everyone was sporting a cut off jeans over white shirt and bulldogs, I was clad in granny dress, ripped tights and boots. But before I took a conscious decision who to listen to, my growing years were spent listening to tunes from the 70s. Well, 60s and 70s but I have a soft spot for the latter and have always thought that it had always been my spiritual birthplace. Hence, the retro look.

Here’s a picture of a young me in elephant pants and elevator shoes:

Image

While most of us passed through a lot of phases – from mod

Image

to Cindy Lauper-ish

Image

to just plain weird,

Image

I never really left my spiritual birthplace.

This is me, circa now:

Image

ImageImageImage

Image

